Today marks the 100th Anniversary of Canada’s original Parliament Buildings being destroyed in a fire that swept through the structure on February 3 1916. All that remains today of the original Parliament structure is the Library of Parliament, a unique round building at the rear of the current Centre Block. Designed by Thomas Fuller, an architect and member of the Freemasons, the original buildings have a unique connection to an ancient Order and their secret symbology.
The unusual characteristics of our original Parliament buildings designed by Fuller constructed in 1860 have already been examined in a previous post, the “Knights Templar and Canada’s Parliament Buildings” . The connection to the ancient order of Knights Templar and the Freemasons was exposed but now we will look closely at a new connection to that of the Eye Of Providence, the most notable depiction of this eye being on the reverse of the Great Seal of the United States, which appears on the United States one-dollar bill.
The original Parliament buildings began their construction September 1 1860 when The Prince Of Wales, later to become King Albert Edward, a known member of Freemasonry, presided over the Masonic ritual of laying the cornerstone of the Parliament Buildings. The Masonic Ceremony included The Prince Of Wales and Fuller exchanging Masonic vows while lowering the ceremonial stone. In 1875 Albert Edward became Grand Master of the Convent General of the Knights Templar.
The Library of Parliament shares an uncanny resemblance to the Temple Church of the Knights Templar built in 1185 in London, perhaps a coincidence but with Fuller’s connection to Freemasonry and their subsequent link to the Templars, it seems unlikely.
To have the exterior of the Parliament Library resemble a Templar church is one thing, but to have our Parliament INTERIOR also match Templar architecture is another. The interior of the Parliament buildings compared to the interior of Templar churches are shown below.
The influence of the Knights Templar and Freemasonry has also been connected to the Eye of Providence on the Great Seal of the United States, which appears on the United States one-dollar bill. This eye in a triangular shape above an unfinished pyramid was adopted as part of the symbolism on the reverse side of the Great Seal in 1782.
It was first suggested as an element of the Great Seal by the first of three design committees in 1776. The use of the same symbol within Freemason symbology dates to 1790 and of all the members of the various design committees for the Great Seal, only Benjamin Franklin was a known Freemason.
Now in 1860 when the Parliament Buildings began construction in Ottawa under Fuller, the symbology of the ancient Order seems to have made its way into Canada’s original centre tower as we will see below…
One could argue that this is pure coincidence, and that Canada’s original Parliament building was in no way meant to incorporate the Freemason symbol and Eye Of Providence. But as I am learning, there seems to be a deeper meaning as to why things are designed a certain way.
On this 100th Anniversary of the fire that destroyed the original building, look closely at what other symbols can be found in buildings designed by Fuller and their connection to an ancient order that is still operating among us today.